Bsc (Hons) Computing & Systems Development (Top Up)

What will I learn?

This BSc (Hons) degree is a recognised Level 6 qualifications and builds on the knowledge and skills you have gained from previous study. You will further develop your programming skills and the course will prepare you for a range of technical challenges you may face in the professional environment. You will build your personal qualities and attributes over the course of the year to make you a very employable candidate when applying for computing roles.

During the course you will study a range of topics including:

  • Programming
  • Databases
  • Web
  • Networking management
  • Client requirements
  • Design
  • Implementation
  • Testing

What could I progress on to?

Once graduated with your full honours you will be able to find IT roles as a technician, software developer, database designer, or network manager. You may wish to progress onto a level 7 qualification such as a master’s degree or equivalent.

Additional Course Details for 17/18

  • Course code 16647
    Course name BSc (Hons) Computing & Systems Development (Top Up)
    Campus Station Plaza
    Study mode Full-Time
    Start date 02/10/17
    Duration 30 week (s)

E-News Signup



Sometimes it can be difficult to decide the right level at which to study. The guide below will help you work which level is best for you.

Entry Level

These courses are for students who want to start progressing up the qualifications levels or have no previous qualifications.

Vocational Level 1

You must have a mixture of grades E to G at GCSE to study at this level.

Vocational Level 2

You must have two grade D's and two grade E's at GCSE or a relevant level 1 qualification to study at this level.

Vocational Level 3

These courses are equivalent to A levels, you must have at least four GCSE's at grade C or above or a relevant level 2 qualification.

A Levels

A levels are level 3 courses, you must have or expect 5 A-C grades at GCSE level including Maths and English.
Foundation Degree and Degree Our university courses typically require a relevant level 3 qualification or 120 UCAS points.