HND Computing & System Development

What entry requirements do I need?

You will need a minimum of: Minimum of 48 UCAS points (120 old system) from a BTEC Level 3 Diploma or Extended Diploma / A Levels / Foundation Diploma / Access Diploma in a related subject; if English is not your first language, an IELTS score of 5.5 with a 5 in writing; proof of qualifications; a satisfactory reference.

What will I learn?

Our HND in Computing and Systems Development is studied over two years and will help you to develop your skills in front and back-end design technologies.

You will be given a more practical and vocational perspective as you develop key knowledge in e-commerce related systems and the business related skills you’ll need for a successful career in the IT industry.

Our expert tutors will help you expand your commercial awareness, while studying computer and network infrastructures. There will be a strong element of design and creativity throughout the course, and we will also help you to develop a good mix of employability skills as well as the essential knowledge needed to progress onto higher levels of study.

During the two years your learning will span a whole range of computing disciplines, focusing on hardware, systems analysis, web technologies, programming databases, networking and multimedia. You will become familiar with a range of computer systems and networking technologies, be able to explore a range of website and database design concepts, and learn how to effectively manage them. You will be able get creative while designing and building a range of web applications, all while relating your projects and assignments to real-life working examples to expand your learning.

Core modules include:

  • Business Skills for e-Commerce
  • Computer Systems
  • Employability and Professional Development
  • Project Design, Implementation and Evaluation

Optional modules There are a number of optional modules that you can choose from to complete the qualification (offered subject to demand and availability of resources).

  • Information Systems in Organisations
  • Quality Systems in IT
  • Data Structures and Algorithms
  • Web Applications Development
  • Computer Games Design and Development

What could I progress on to?

Once you have completed the HND you will have a diverse range of transferable skills that will enable you to either; start your career in a number of IT technician roles or continue with your studies and top-up your qualification with the full BSc Honours on our BSc (Hons) Computing and Systems Development course.

Additional Course Details for 18/19

  • Study Year Year 1
    Course code 12000Y1
    Course name BTEC Level 4 Higher National Diploma in Computing Y1
    Campus Ore Valley Campus
    Study mode Full-Time
    Days Various
    Start date 26/09/18
    Duration 30 week (s)

Additional Course Details for 19/20

  • Study Year Year 1
    Course code 12000Y1
    Course name BTEC Level 4 HND Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF) Y1
    Campus Ore Valley Campus
    Study mode Full-Time
    Days Various
    Start date 01/10/19
    Duration 30 week (s)

E-News Signup



Sometimes it can be difficult to decide the right level at which to study. The guide below will help you work which level is best for you.

Entry Level

These courses are for students who want to start progressing up the qualifications levels or have no previous qualifications.

Vocational Level 1

You must have a mixture of grades E to G at GCSE to study at this level.

Vocational Level 2

You must have two grade D's and two grade E's at GCSE or a relevant level 1 qualification to study at this level.

Vocational Level 3

These courses are equivalent to A levels, you must have at least four GCSE's at grade C or above or a relevant level 2 qualification.

A Levels

A levels are level 3 courses, you must have or expect 5 A-C grades at GCSE level including Maths and English.
Foundation Degree and Degree Our university courses typically require a relevant level 3 qualification or 120 UCAS points.